Gecko (Ceramic)

IMG_7459

Day 24.

This critter crawled out of my imagination back in 2009. I was going through a lizard phase. Lizards and reptiles were on my mind and in my dreams. To me they represent survival our oldest and most essential instinct. I associate them with danger and threat always scanning the terrain all senses primed on the single goal.

My original intention was to collect large flat stones and paint colourful geckos and chameleons onto them in a folk style. The project never came to light. I went out to Greystones to with the intention of collecting stones on the beach but spent the afternoon having tea and playing football with a friend of mine who lives down there instead.

The idea and imagery persisted in my drawings and notebooks for a spell and then I decided to try making one in ceramics. They have a wonderful silhouette all curvilinear in their extremities.

The fineness of the digits and the thinness of the piece required very careful attention in the drying phase. It happens so often that fine pieces become dried before the whole and snap off so I kept it wrapped up and moistened in an effort to avoid it and was fortunately successful. He made it in and out of the kiln intact, a survivor like his kind.

The piece is approx 6 inches in length.

Leave a Reply

