Girl bathing (Oil pastel)

IMG_1396

Day 54.

This is a drawing I did a long time ago. It is an early attempt at using oil pastels. My handling of the material is crude and in places very messy but I can also see that I was being bold and free in applying the colour despite the lack of technique.

I was working from a Degas print. There are many errors in the pose, in the perspective and the foreshortening yet the work bears a strong impression of life, of toil and also a sense of weight. There is a clumsiness to the pose that suggests innocence as well as intimacy. A private moment.

What I like about this most is that is demonstrates my enjoyment in mixing colours. Whether the madness of my approach is with or without method the effect of my efforts demonstrates an appreciation, enthusiasm and aptitude for pigment and hue.

Leave a Reply

