Crimson and gold (Goache)

IMG_1522

Day 58.

I went up to the attic where I had been storing some of my earliest drawings and paintings. It was curious to go through my old sketch books I observed myself feeling a lot less critical towards all of the work seeing strengths and and aptitude in pieces that previously filled me with self condemnation.

A lot of work and a lot of looking. A lot of humour too.

I saw in the work the girl I was at various stages of my youth and the struggles I was facing. So many of the sketches brought a smile to my face. I noticed especially in the life studies that although my technique was crude and my lines often messy and indistinct I often succeeded in capturing the personality of the subject especially noticeable in the studies of close friends and intimates. Within my collection of charcoal sketches I saw a living past that photographs can’t convey.

I’m so glad I still have them and am gladdened at how much I’ve grown and changed since then more importantly how much I’ve stayed the same.

One thought on “Crimson and gold (Goache)

Leave a Reply

