Reclining figure (Ceramic)

IMG_1664

Day 92.

My lounging  lady is a survivor. Due to there being trapped air inside the piece it was badly damaged during firing. It split into several pieces but I salvaged two main portions which I put back together and for glazing and final firing. Due to the fine nature of the piece the risk of damage in firing was highly possible.

I am glad I restored what I could of the figure. The crack through the middle has done little to diminish the overall result. The edges where the legs were blown away provide an interesting textural contrast to the smooth curves plus the final dimensions appeal visually to me more than did the original complete figure.

Perhaps it was fate as I was excessively attached to what I saw as my beautiful flawless creation.

Day 92.

Leave a Reply

