Cave Drawings (felt pen)

DSC00458

Day 73.

Cave drawings sketched swiftly in poor light inside the Pileta Caves on the outskirts of Ronda, Spain.

No photography was permitted sensibly so any capturing of the momentous experience I had to make do with pen and hand. It was an extraordinary experience and the beginning of a renewed interest in antiquities and ancient cultures and their expression.

I regularly get an impulse to carve or paint out my most pressing inner symbols upon the walls of my own cave. I might do it yet. Rip off the paint work to get a raw surface and decorate my quarters with images from the deepest recesses of my psyche.

Its a matter of time really. The urge will one day become strong enough to produce the action. I’ve observed that in most of my doings.

Till then I guess I’ll percolate and allow what comes to float up to the surface.

Leave a comment